Tiger’s Drop

Frank,
I read your putting tip this week and would like to join you in congratulating Adam Scott – a great champion.

The Masters was filled with excitement but I want your “Frank” take on the Tiger penalty.

Thanks for your weekly tips and comments. I look forward to your opinion on various issues.

Norm
Florida

Norm,
First, I would like to thank you for your comments about our weekly communications with our Frankly Friends.

Second, YES, we do have a worthy and real super-star in Adam. I believe he will continue to represent the game well into the future. I am sure he will be able to adapt to a shorter putter if anchoring is banned but I found the design of his putter head very interesting.

To this end, we not only congratulate Adam but also congratulate Scotty Cameron of Titleist for recognizing the innovations developed ten years ago by Frankly Golf for its Frankly Frog putters.

Regarding the Tiger penalty; I believe it was an opportunity lost.

Rule 6-6b requires that the competitor sign the card after settling any doubtful point with the Committee, and Rule 6-6d states that if he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified.

However, “Rule 33-7 Disqualification Penalty; Committee Discretion” states in part that a penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived, modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted.

This potential waiving of the disqualification penalty by the Committee gives the competitor a second chance, relieving him of the obligation to disqualify himself when he knows the rule has been broken. This is a fracturing of the very foundation of our game. Yes, there may be extenuating circumstances, but in most cases there is no excuse for not knowing the rules and calling the penalty on oneself. “There is only one way to play the game” as Bobby Jones stated at the 1925 U.S. Open

If Tiger had disqualified himself –as harsh as it might have seemed – in the long run he would have benefitted more than winning another Masters at this time.

I hope this is Frank enough.

Let us know what you think.

Frank

41 thoughts on “Tiger’s Drop

  1. You are right Frank.
    He should have disqualified himself.
    He might have regained some lost esteem. Now he’s just a villain.

  2. First it really bugs me when so called fans call in infractions ..
    Second It really bugs me the Committee didn’t approach TW and and ask him if he dropped the ball further back then his original shot. That basically gave TW a pass from being DQ’d once the committee made an incorrect ruling.
    Third.. and what probably bugs me the most is that this is not a complicated rule. I can’t imagine TW didn’t know where he was suppose to drop his ball. Which begs the question .. how many times has he or other players done this? I had been hoping to see TW break Jack’s record but now?

  3. IMO Tiger got the same benefit as Ernie Els when the official made a mistake. The application of 2-stokes under Rule 20-7 was correct as an admonishment for not dropping in the correct spot. The player should not be punished for a correctable error that some official blew the call. I think missing the rule is bad and I will bet Tiger won’t screw it up again, but, official ruling was given before card was accepted and right or wrong we have to accept.

  4. MJ Martin – Please read my last post. Apparently you are one who thinks like so many of Eldricks fans do. No harm, No foul is what you are saying.

    And people wonder why this country and many of its citizens are on the road to…..

  5. If the people who want to disagree with a person like Mr. Morrisett, that has no axe to grind, but is a true authority when it comes to the rules of golf, then please list you qualifications as to the rules and decisions of golf. I believe he has spoken the truth. If you dislike Tiger so much as a human being that you have to question eveything he does I feel sorry for you.

  6. I agree with Wm McDonald. However, EW whether knowing the correct interpretation of the rule tried to gain an unfair advantage. In order to avoid embarrassing EW further and avoid embarrassing the tournament the Committee decided to only assess the 2 shot penalty. Giving both the high ground to make a decision of honor.

    Following the committee’s ruling a man of honor would have decided that in the best interest of the game and in accordance with the spirit of the game that he would DQ himself.

    Of course “Winning takes care of everything.” All you need to know about a man who has no honor and his sychophants.

    So many preach fairness but when it comes to their guy fairness or honor are not words they understand. As on guy told me on another blog concerning Woods, its okay if you cheat in life if you are great because everyone else cheats too. So EW and his fans go through life thinking cheating or living a life with no morals and honor is okay because everyone cheats and no one has any honor.

    What a sad way to go through life.

    • Spot on, Cyd. It’s KNOWING that you are taking undue advantage that makes Mr. Woods action censurable and CYNICAL, to say the least. As Frank Hannigan mentioned, Tiger missed a great opportunity to DO RiGHT. I guess it’s not in his genes. He only “reported” HIS violation BECAUSE someone in the “public” reported it. Otherwise, “see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil”. Sad to see this behavior from a person who is a role model to so many people, young and old.

  7. All comments views and opinions are moot and should defer to the following..
    Television viewers are outside the ropes and the tournament. and should be without standing.

    • William: even though “the viewing public is outside the ropes”, as you state, the FACT that a viewer reported the drop violation made by Mr. Woods, GAVE Mr. Woods the OPPORTUNITY to disqualify himself for having “knowingly” taken undue advantage in the manner he made the drop and for signing his card with a score on the 15th hole 2 strokes less than he really had. For this discussion, it’s irrelevant that “the public” is not part of the competition. I watched the 4 day telecast; and to me it was evident that Mr. Woods knew he was taking undue advantage in the manner that he made the drop. I saw him survey the entire terrain in assessing his drop options. So HE KNEW what he was doing. The fact that he “called” it on himself is ONLY because of the report made by the “public outside the ropes”. That is a CYNICAL attitude. Clearly, Mr. Woods does not share the attitides and beliefs of Mr. Bobby Jones ( “Golf can only be played by the Rules” ).

  8. Dear Frank and Friends: I completely agree with you that Mr. Woods should have disqualified himself for violating the drop Rule and Rule 6-6d. My reasoning is that HIS INTENT was to “take advantage” of the drop situation by not making the drop according to the applicable Rule. I watched the entire 4 day telecast and can attest that Mr. Woods took all the time in the world to survey the terrain and assess his best opportunity to still make a score of 6 on the 15th hole. He consciously took the option to drop where, or at “the nearest spot not closer to the hole, from which he made his last stroke”. But, as he surveyed the terrain, it was Totally evident to me that he consciously chose a spot about 2 yards further back from where he had made his last stroke; and by doing that he was in violation of the appropriate drop Rule, and did so, in my opinion with full knowledge that he was taking advantage to which he was NOT entitled, according to the Rules. This, coupled with he signing the card without assessing himself the evident penalty strokes (2), should have led Mr. Woods to disqualify himself.
    The Committee acted in the knowledge that Mr. Woods was not cognizant of having violated the Drop Rule when he signed his card. But the way I saw ALL of Mr. Woods actions between the time his 3rd shot went into the water hazzard and the time he made his 5th stroke from the wrong drop position, he KNEW all the time that he was taking UNDUE advantage when he made his “drop”. QED: Mr. Woods should have disqualified himself for having signed a scorecard with a score of 6 on hole 15 instead of the score of 8, which he had with the addition of the 2 penalty strokes for taking a wrong drop which gave him undue advantage. But then again, I guess it is not in Mr. Woods genes to act according to the Rules, and to conduct himself as stated by Bobby Jones in the 1925 U.S. Open ( and there is a story behind the statement Mr. Jones made in that Open ). But then ……. Mr. Woods will probably never behave like Mr. Jones ( I hope that I am making a wrong assessment, and that in the future , Mr. Woods conducts himself more like Mr. Jones, as Mr. Woods is a role model for a great many people, young and not so young ).

  9. If the rule book was all there is to the rules of golf I might agree, but as you know and I am sure most amatuers don’t, there is a companion set of decisions that go along with most of the rules in the rule book. This decision book is approx. 3/4″ to 1” thick and 8 & 1/2 ” high and 4 & 1/4″ wide. When I first started working with the rules comm. of the St. Louis Metropolitan Golf Assoc. I was totally amazed with the amount of content of this book. Having spent twenty plus years as a small college and High School sports official in three sports unrelated to golf I was overwhelmed. Thankfully I was told I did not have to memorize all that was in that book. Being 65 years old at the time I was relieved as it was hard enough remembering what happened the week before. When working tournaments we were always able to call on an USGA official if we were unsure of a ruling. Whether Tiger was confused or not is not for me to say but for the media to castigate him for what he did or didn’t do was ignorant. For me, Tiger played by the rules that were in force at the time. He was told that he had done nothing wrong by the rules comm. prior to signing his score card.

      • Well, now that the USGA has stepped into the issue…several weeks after the fact…I don’t get a warm fuzzy feeling. If it wasn’t for the hat that they send each year that I give to my father-in-law…I wouldn’t even belong to the USGA. As for the ruling…water under the bridge. Time to move on!

  10. I’m withy Frank’s comments 100%!! For this game to maintain its integrity at its highest levels, will require the “new generation” to emulate those past, it would have been a class act for TW to disqualify himself. It’s a shame he didn’t do so.

  11. I agree with one of the earlier replies. Once it’s over, how can they recall it again. They said there was not problem with his drop on the day of the drop, I just can’t not agree with going back after it’s been called by the officical to be a good drop. I would also like to see a STOP put to the TV calling in thing. You can’t do it in ANY other sport, why Golf.

  12. Frank,
    Very astute observation about Tiger benefitting in the long run by calling the infraction on himself. I wonder, if he had first called the rule violation (or asked for a ruling) and his readiness to accept the disqualification, would rules officials then still have the option of waiving the DQ?

  13. I must respectfully disagree with your stance in this matter. There is a rule to cover this situation, and Tiger was playing in accordance with that rule. If he had disqualified himself, he would not be conforming to the rule and the decisiion of the committee. Would he then be chastised for another rule infraction? I think he did the right thing by complying with the committee’s decision and continuing to play. Keep in mind that he was not apprised of a possible rule violation until the next day. This is why that rule was put into place. If he had known he was making a bad drop, he would not have made the drop in the first place. I find great fault with the officials for not informing him at the time that there had been some question regarding the drop. I believe that if they had talked to him at the time, he would have been truthful and then he would have been assessed the penalty strokes immediately and the issue of signing an incorrect card would not ever have come up. The rules officials and the committee should be taken out back and severely punished for causing this entire fiasco to occur.

  14. Completely disagree Frank for a couple of reasons. If golf is a sport then just like all other sports, a fan can not call in a penalty. This allowment is in poor form for the game of golf and a sore spot on the game. Secondly, pictures have shown that Tiger was not indeed two yards back but actually rather close to his original spot and a penalty should not have been assessed. Lastly, what other sport requires players to know every single rule with all its uniqueness? none. These stringent rules take away from the game and not growing it. Which is exactly what you preach. I am Tiger fan but believe the insanity of the rules detracts from a wonderful game and wouldn’t wish what he went through on anyone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.