I read your putting tip this week and would like to join you in congratulating Adam Scott – a great champion.
The Masters was filled with excitement but I want your “Frank” take on the Tiger penalty.
Thanks for your weekly tips and comments. I look forward to your opinion on various issues.
First, I would like to thank you for your comments about our weekly communications with our Frankly Friends.
Second, YES, we do have a worthy and real super-star in Adam. I believe he will continue to represent the game well into the future. I am sure he will be able to adapt to a shorter putter if anchoring is banned but I found the design of his putter head very interesting.
To this end, we not only congratulate Adam but also congratulate Scotty Cameron of Titleist for recognizing the innovations developed ten years ago by Frankly Golf for its Frankly Frog putters.
Regarding the Tiger penalty; I believe it was an opportunity lost.
Rule 6-6b requires that the competitor sign the card after settling any doubtful point with the Committee, and Rule 6-6d states that if he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified.
However, “Rule 33-7 Disqualification Penalty; Committee Discretion” states in part that a penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived, modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted.
This potential waiving of the disqualification penalty by the Committee gives the competitor a second chance, relieving him of the obligation to disqualify himself when he knows the rule has been broken. This is a fracturing of the very foundation of our game. Yes, there may be extenuating circumstances, but in most cases there is no excuse for not knowing the rules and calling the penalty on oneself. “There is only one way to play the game” as Bobby Jones stated at the 1925 U.S. Open
If Tiger had disqualified himself –as harsh as it might have seemed – in the long run he would have benefitted more than winning another Masters at this time.
I hope this is Frank enough.
Let us know what you think.
I agree fully with Merryck Snyman.
Two wrongs have never made a right!!
Forget who the player was the rules state disqualification!!
Any other player would have been disqualified.
There’s talk of Rules for tournament players and rules for amateur players (long putter).
There’s already two sets of rules “One set for Tiger and one set for the rest of us”!!
Pingback: Adam’s Anchoring | franklygolf